Idolatry

“We want to get busy, get our hands dirty, start serving and growing and changing the world. This may very well lead us to the mainline, or perhaps to something associated with the Anabaptist tradition, or perhaps to something very similar to evangelicalism….but without the label.”

Rachel Held Evans, The Future of Evangelicalism


I’m a Christian. I love Jesus, and do my best to love the people that Jesus loves. My love for the people that Jesus loves is weak, if it stands alone, but strong if it flows from the heart of Christ himself.

Like Rachel, I get tired of following Jesus in a defensive posture.  I am justified by Jesus alone, and I don’t understand the attitude of someone like Piper, who seems to believe that Christians must also be justified by him as well.

It’s time for me to stop being an idolater- time to stop desiring acceptance from anyone other than Jesus.

About Dhouda

"And what shall I say, fragile vessel that I am? I shall turn to others as a friend." Dhouda's Manual, AD 841
This entry was posted in Faithfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

