Palm Planting

Next Sunday, lots of Christians will include a procession of palm branches in their worship service.  A subset of those believers will then torch the palm branches, retaining the ashes to make marks on their foreheads to celebrate next year’s Ash Wednesday.

It seems to me that this Sunday, then, should be titled something like “The Planting of the Palms.”  Palm branches are a renewable resource, but if they’re to be liturgically used, oughtn’t they be liturgically renewed?

My church won’t have any palm branches, so I suppose it’s not my concern.

About Dhouda

"And what shall I say, fragile vessel that I am? I shall turn to others as a friend." Dhouda's Manual, AD 841
This entry was posted in Joy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

